Mental Illness, OCD, Tourette Syndrome

5 Ways I Cope With Anxiety

dandelion

If you’re reading this, you most likely struggle with some sort of anxiety. You know how hard it can be, I know how hard it can be, and we all know that it’s irrational to have so much anxiety over our triggers. I’m not a professional, but I’ve dealt with anxiety for over thirteen years and have picked up my fair share of tricks. Here are five tips to help you climb that mountain.

  • Start a daily check list.

    I made mine on Pages (Word for MacBooks) and added a section for ‘Achievements’ that I write down at the end of the day. (You can download it below!!!) 

  • Rationalize

    You need to remind yourself that the anxiety isn’t real. There is no real reason for these feelings, and it’s okay to have them. They can’t hurt you and will eventually go away. This process is called Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT)

  • Journal your feelings and end it on a positive note.

    When you write down your feelings, you will start realizing that there are things you didn’t even know were bothering you. Ending it on a positive note is important as well. I find it works better than listing positive things about life because lists make it feel like I’m trying to remember there are good things in life instead of actually changing my thought process.

  •   Always remember that things get better.

    I remember when I hit rock bottom. Things couldn’t get any worse.  I was days away from getting tube fed because I couldn’t eat, I was trapped in my own house, and there was a chance I would have to be in assisted living. I realize now that the best part about rock bottom is that it can only get better.

  •  In the end, this experience will give you a deeper appreciation to life.

    You won’t take advantage of the little things in life, you will see beauty in nature and find happiness in the new memories you make because you know how hard life really can be, and know what it is like to see only darkness.

Extra!

  •  One day when everything has been great, things might get hard again, but you will already have the tools to make it through.


Download my Checklist

Stay Chipper Friends! 


photo credit: Unsplash.com uncopyrighted photos.

3 thoughts on “5 Ways I Cope With Anxiety”

  1. I told you I’d check back! Sometimes I forget though, sorry. But yes, these are all great. And to try and give you another coping skill I’d suggest just talking to a close friend or family member for a while. I swear it helps a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for checking back!! And YES! I’m glad you mentioned that! I’m lucky to be very close with my family. They know everything I’m thinking so we can work out a plan. We even have a “code word” to say so when people are around or someone is on the phone, we know we need to drop what we’re doing and “bop” Thanks again for dropping by! 🙂

      Like

  2. Chelsea
    You are one of the strongest people I know! I saw you fight through this before and I know you have it in you to come through again! Love your posts! Mrs. Schwab
    I am here cheering you on😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave Some Comments!

