Mental Illness, OCD, Tourette Syndrome

Strong People Have Mental Illness?

IKMsqwyaR6qN0kq48STw_annapurna

I have lived in the same town since the age of one. I love it here, and I love the mountains around me. Mountains are so beautiful; metaphorical mountains on the other hand are not. And when that metaphorical mountain is mental health, I imagine Hell has an entire mountain range.

I’m guessing a lot of you reading this have experience, or are experiencing this hike and know just how hard it is, while others are just starting to get the idea. There are far too many people who do not understand that our brains have the power to control our thoughts, our emotions, create false memories, and give us physical reactions to different situations. An example of the last one for me currently is becoming disgusted by food. Every time I want to eat, I almost gag because my brain tells me it’s gross. It is as if I am eating a plate of worms. It’s scary how our brains can control us like that.

Through my years of hiking Mount OCD, I have met—and even lived with—so many other fellow hikers. Every single one of them is a fighter. It’s shocking how we all suffer with hurdles that try to prevent us from living our lives, yet we find ways to see happiness in the little things. We find ways to gain strength and fight for the future we deserve. It is amazing how even when life continues to challenge us, a flame inside ignites, creating sparks in our eyes, which show how we can and will overcome whatever stands in our way.

We have all experienced the moment when we decide it’s time to fight our illness and live the life we were meant to live. We are so strong and we will one day overcome our obstacles. There will be a day when we can achieve our dreams, and there will be a day when we look back and see how strong we truly are. So yes, only strong people have mental illness.

~ Stay Chipper Friends ~

dreamcatcher


Remember to email me any time at chipperchelseakay@gmail.com I’d love to hear from you!


I apologize for any confusion, I posted this once before but didn’t like how it ended up sounding. This is the updated version.

2 thoughts on “Strong People Have Mental Illness?”

    1. Thank you Carl! I liked using the analogy as well, to help give more of a visual to relate to. I’ve been meaning to come over to your blog for a visit! I always enjoy your posts! I’ll be sure to soon 🙂 Thank you for the kind words of encouragement! They mean a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave Some Comments!

