Mental Illness, OCD, Rogers Memorial Hospital Blogs, Tourette Syndrome

Reviews and Inspiration

 

You Have Control

A few days ago during one of my groups at Partial, we watched this incredible video of a guy named Ethan. It’s full of inspiration, determination, strength, and a whole lot of jokes. I wanted to share this because it spoke a lot to me and has helped me quite a bit the last few days. He shares his story and some personal videos that will inspire and amaze you.  My favorite quote that he says is towards the end. He says, “Emotions don’t matter, thoughts don’t matter; it’s focus and behavior and what we do with that stuff.”

The morning after we had watched the video I had these strong feelings that were trying to prevent me from going into partial. I was fighting internally and crying externally. All of a sudden a thought jumped towards the front of my brain. It said, “Thoughts don’t matter, it’s what I do with it that makes the difference” Ethan’s words got me out of my bed and into my clothing. It reminded me that I am in control. I control my behaviors.

This speech not only brings a greater awareness to the mental health world, it is a video that I can watch to gain my strength. I believe that anyone who is struggling-with or without a mental illness- can look at this and relate to the struggles we all face as human beings.

~Stay Chipper!~


Don’t forget, you can always email me at chipperchelseakay@gmail.com

I also want to give a big thank you for all the support I’ve gotten from my fellow bloggers! I want to apologize that I haven’t been keeping up on your blogs or commenting as much as I should. Once I am out of treatment I will definitely catch up with all of you!

Leave Some Comments!

